top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Holley

Better than Panda's-Fried Rice

Updated: Jun 19, 2020

This is one of my family's favorite sides! It is so easy and doesn't cost very much to make. I explored many recipes while trying to make this one. After many trials and error, I was able to come up with a recipe that my family loves!


Panda Express used to be one of my favorite fast-food restaurants, but after creating this recipe, I have spoiled my taste buds to the point of no return...literally! Sorry Panda...




 

Fried Rice


1 1/2 cups of cooked white rice, cooled

4 TBS peanut oil (any oil can be used, I just like the taste of peanut oil)

1 tsp Sesame Seed Oil

2 cloves of garlic

1 tsp ginger (I like using Dorot)

1/4 cup onion

1/8 - 1/4 cup Soy sauce

1-2 eggs, depending on how "eggy" you like it


  1. Cook white rice and let cool for two hours in the fridge.

  2. In a large skillet, saute garlic, ginger and onions in the peanut and sesame oil until onions are translucent.

  3. Add cooled rice to the skillet and break it up with a wooden spoon.

  4. Fry rice, adding extra oil if nessassary. Add soy sauce.

  5. Push rice to one side of the skillet and crack eggs in the empty spot. Scramble eggs as soon as cracked, and keep separated from rice until eggs are fully cooked.

  6. Mix eggs and the rice mixture!


 

Tips

  • I like to make my rice in a rice steamer, because I can be assured that my rice won't burn! Side Note...If you don't have one already, I highly suggest buying one! I picked one up really cheap at a yard sale! Its one of the most used items in my kitchen!

  • After I cook the rice, I put it in the fridge for about 2 hours to make sure it is cooled. Warm rice can be used, but it doesn't fry as well.

  • Also, try making a large batch of wite rice and freezing it! That way when you are ready to make this side, you have the rice on hand!



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page