top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Holley

Delicious Apple Sauce

So...I ended up buying apples, and they sat on the counter for way too long! By the time I grabbed one and took a bite, it was getting sorta mushy. Not being one for waste, I decided it was time to take an adventure in apple sauce making...


It turned out that applesauce is really easy to make and tastes way better than the stuff you get at the store! Also, it's super cheap to make (especially when you were going to have to throw the apples away)! No longer will I be buying applesauce...


My daughter and I worked on this recipe together. I LOVE when she works in the kitchen with me. What better way to bond than over food?



First you peel, core and slice apple and emerge in water.


Then, after 20 minutes, mash the apples using a potato masher or my favorite... a bean masher...


Or, if you really like it pureed, use a hand blender. My sister got this one for me for Christmas and I LOVE it! It makes small blending jobs like this much easier and doesn't make such a mess!



Then add the sugar and cinnamon and give it a good stir!


Delicious Apple Sauce


6 Apples

1 1/8 cup water

1/8 cup granulated sugar

1/2 tsp cinnamon


  1. Peel, core, and slice apples

  2. Add water and apples in a stockpot and boil for 20 minutes

  3. Mash apples using a bean masher or puree using a hand mixer

  4. Add sugar and cinnamon and give it a good stir


Notes:

  • Depending on the sweetness of the apples, the sugar added to the apples may vary. Add sugar slowly and test it.

  • Can be stored in the refrigerator for up to 10 days


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page